Visa Koivunen


Research units & titles

Artistic and research interests

Visa Koivunen (IEEE Fellow) received the D.Sc. (Tech.) degree with honors from the Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Oulu, Oulu, Finland. He received the primus doctor (best graduate) award among the doctoral graduates in years 1989-1994. He is a member of Eta Kappa Nu. From 1992 to 1995 he was a visiting researcher at the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA. Since 1999 he has been a full Professor of Signal Processing at Aalto University (formerly known as Helsinki Univ of Technology), Finland. He received the Academy professor position. He was one of the Principal Investigators in SMARAD Center of Excellence in Research nominated by the Academy of Finland. Years 2003-2006 he has been also adjunct full professor at the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA. During his sabbatical term year 2007 he was a Visiting Fellow at Princeton University, NJ, USA. He has also been a part-time Visiting Fellow at Nokia Research Center (2006-2012). He has been part time visiting fellow at Princeton University since 2010 and spent mini-sabbaticals there each year and a full sabbatical inĀ  2013-2014.

Dr. Koivunen's research interest include statistical, communications, sensor array signal processing, radars and machine learning. He has published over 400 papers in international scientific conferences and journals. He co-authored the papers receiving the best paper award in IEEE PIMRC 2005, EUSIPCO'2006, EUCAP 2006 and COCORA 2012. He was awarded the IEEE Signal Processing Society best paper award for the year 2007 (with J. Eriksson) and 2017 (w Zoubir, Muma and Chakhchouk). He has advised 28 doctoral theses. He served as an associate editor for IEEE Signal Processing Letters and IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing and IEEE Signal Processing Magazine. He has been a member of the IEEE SPS technical committees SPCOM-TC and SAM-TC. He was the general chair of the IEEE SPAWC conference 2007 conference and the Technical Program Chair for the IEEE SPAWC 2015. He is the general chair of 2018 Asilomar conference. He is a member of the IEEE Fourier Award and Fellow Reference committees. He is the recipient of the EURASIP Technical Achievement Award in 2015 for fundamental contributions to statistical signal processing and its applications in wireless communications, radar and related fields.

Education/Academic qualification

  • Doctor of Science (Technology), Oulun yliopisto

ID: 107355