Student prize: Dorothy Waxman Textile Design Prize

Prize: Invitation or ranking in competition


Lidewij Edelkoort and Philip Fimmano are pleased to announce the desicion to give a Special Jury’s Mention in the Dorothy Waxman International Textile Design Prize to Department of Design doctoral candidate Hanna-Kaisa Korolainen. She is a textile design graduate from Aalto. The winner of the prize was Wendy Andreu from Design Academy Eindhoven. Presided over by Dorothy Waxman, the 2017 jury was comprised of Royce Epstein (Mohawk Group), Helen Oji (Eileen Fisher), Paul Makovsky (Metropolis Magazine) and designers Lori Weitzner and Sherri Donghia.

Giving reference to the rain, Hanna-Kaisa’s The House of Rain is a sumptuously-soft range of rugs and cushions in mohair that are a cosy antidote to today’s difficult times. Hanna-Kaisa wanted to see how sketches made with water could be developed into textiles and how sources of inspiration influence the process and the outcome. Her textile’s surface resembles thick, dense fur where original motifs are blurred and almost disappear, because of the richness of the material. When brushed open, the mohair becomes organic and almost animal-like, it even feels warm. Its three-dimensional surface seems active as if it was alive and reaching out.

In addition to Hanna-Kaisa Korolainen Textile design graduates Aamu Salo, Tiina Paavilainen and MA-student Antonina Sedakova from the Fashion, Clothing and Textile Design Programme were among the 15 finalists in the International competition. This year the competition received more than 100 entries from all around the world.
Degree of recognitionInternational
Granting OrganisationsDorothy Waxman International Textile Design Prize / Trendtablet by lidewij Edelkoort

Awarded at event

Event titleNew York Design Month: Talking Textiles Conference and Exhibition
LocationEdelkoort Inc., New York, United StatesShow on map
Period12 Sep 2017 → 24 Sep 2017